Training for the Spring 2017 Race Season has begun.

On January 31, 2017, the Gear Grinders started training on Bainbridge Island on Tuesday and Wednesday after school.  Normally, we ride on the trails at Grand Forest East, North and West and Battle Point Park.  Our rides are from 3:45 to 5:15 pm.  We put a sandwich board sign at the Grand Forest East trailhead at Mandus Olson Road on training days.  We stress appropriate trail etiquette on all of our training rides.  On the weekends we normally train off-island.


Great News -  Bainbridge Island is getting a mountain bike pump track at Battle Point Park!  On February 2, 2017, the Park District approved the construction of a pump track at Battle Point Park.  The pump track was proposed by the Bainbridge Island Mountain Biking Club and the Gear Grinders and will be built with the support and expertise of Evergreen West Sound.  Many thanks to Evergreen West Sound for their key role in this project.  Now it is time for mountain bikers on Bainbridge Island to step up and volunteer to help build the pump track.  If you want to be involved, please email us at info@geargrinders.org .  If you don’t have time to help but want to support the pump track you can donate at http://geargrinders.org/club .  


Thank you everyone in our community who contributed to the Bainbridge Island Mountain Biking CLub and the Gear Grinders teams during the 2016-2017 One Call For All Red Envelope Campaign.  



Our teams are at their limit and we are not accepting new riders.  If you wish to be on the wait list send an email to info@geargrinders.org.  As it is our policy to actively encourage girl participation, we will make exceptions for female riders.

Team Dues

1.) Pay the team dues for students of $100 (includes spinning classes in January and a jersey every 2 years).  We prefer payment through Pay Pal which is processed by our fund raising arm,  Bainbridge Island Mountain Biking Club.  Use the donate button below and on the "Instructions to Merchant " line, put the name of the student.

Gear Grinders 2017 Dues

You may pay by check.  The $100 check for your team dues should be made out to Bainbridge Island Mountain Biking Club. Please put Gear Grinders on the memo line of the check and mail to Scott Westerhout, 12327 Arrow Point Loop NE , Bainbridge Island, WA 98110.

League Dues

2.) register with the Washington Student Cycling League at www.washingtonleague.org

Use the "How To" Guide to walk you through the process:  http://washingtonleague.org/wp-content/uploads/RegistrationGuide_ForStudents.pdf

Register for either the Bainbridge HS team or Bainbridge MS team. 

The system will ask you for a code.  The codes for our teams will be provided in the interview with the team coach. 

The program fee for students is $195 (includes insurance and race fees).

Riders cannot begin participating until both league and team registration are completed.

Coaches and Volunteers

Coaches and volunteers must register with the Washington Student Cycling League at www.washingtonleague.org. The fee for adult volunteers is $30.00 (includes background screening). 

 We are actively recruiting ride leaders and may add an additional weekday ride to accommodate more riders on the team.  To avoid disappointments we recommend to register as soon as possible. Registration will close as soon as we reach maximum capacity and we will then place interested riders on a wait list.  As it is our policy to actively encourage girl participation, we will make exceptions for female riders.

We strive through fundraising to make our program accessible to any interested students.  Please contact a coach if the fees are a barrier to participation.


BI Parks Board Approved our Proposed Battle Point Pump Track on May 5, 2016.  Design is almost finished and we hope to put the word out soon for volunteers to help.  Community volunteers will build it!

GREAT TURNOUT AT THE MOVIE NIGHT FUNDRAISER on March 5, 2016!  The house was packed.  Thanks to Jo Vanderlee and her team for making it all happen.  Tom Clune presented "The Great Divide Mountain Bike Route," PLUS Teton Gravity Research's wild and we showed the surreal mountain bike film "unReal." 

We benefit from the support we get from Evergreen West Sound.  Make sure you support them.  Go to https://www.facebook.com/ridekitsaptrails/  to get involved!  

Who are the GearGrinders?

The Gear Grinders are co-ed middle school and high school level mountain bike teams open to students at Bainbridge Island Middle and High Schools. The teams is part of the Washington State Student Cycling League and receives financial support from the newly founded Bainbridge Island Mountain Biking Club (BIMBC). The League promotes the sport of cross-country riding, both competitive and recreational. We stress team spirit, having fun, being safe, building fitness and skills, and giving back to the community. 


 MEET THE LEAGUE RIDE - DECEMBER 4, 9:00 a.m. Hill Top Park between Grand forest West and East at Pru’s House.  All student riders must have a waiver signed by a parent.  Waiver is at   http://washingtonleague.org/wp-content/uploads/Form_LiabilityRelease.pdf   The flyer is at http://washingtonleague.org/wp-content/uploads/flyer_2017_BI.pdf

During our training rides we focus on skills development, fitness, strength and endurance through a variety of drills and ride locations. 

We begin in January and usually have two trainings every week.  Races are on Sundays in April and May and some require an overnight trip.  Parents are responsible for transportation and arranging carpools to and from training rides and races.

  • Friday 3:45p - 4:45p, Spinning classes at Island Fitness begin in January 2017
  • Tuesdays and Wednesdays, 3:30p –5:00p, (starting January 31, 2017): Grand Forest trails, usually meet at Mandus Olson Road
  • Sundays, 9:00a – 12:30a,  Various locations all over the Peninsula, parents meet at the library for parent carpool.


Coaches and Ride Leaders are required to meet the Leagues requirements (see the website for details). In addition to that we need volunteers for:

  • Transportation – help get team members to training events
  • Race Day Support (food!)
  • Trail Building
  • Additional opportunities
    • Website support
    • PR and Marketing
    • Fund raising


The Gear Grinders is a valued partner for the Bainbridge Parks District. We are the single biggest contributor of labor at the monthly trail building work parties (every fourth Saturday of the month from 10:00 – 1:00). Students are expected to complete 6 hours of community service each season.  Trail building is a great way to give back to the community and to meet that requirement. 


The Bainbridge Island Mountain Bike Club organizes the following fund raising efforts:

  • Give to the Club through Bainbridge Island One Call for All      http://onecallforall.org/
  • Farm Fresh Scramble: We have not set a date for this mountain bike event with fun activities for the entire family at the Johnson Farm.  Thank you 2015 Sponsors:  Jake's Pickup, Ty Evans Windermere, Bainbridge Yoga House, Classic Cycle, B I Cycle, Bainbridge Island Physical Therapy, Eleven Winery, Squeaky Wheels.


High School and Middle School Teams:  Herman Vroom, vroomhe@yahoo.com

Bainbridge Island Mountain Biking Club jbenjes@hotmail.com  206 913-7484


Jay Abbott        The community of student-athletes, coaches, volunteers and families are all deeply saddened by the loss of our fellow coach, mentor and friend Jay Abbott last season.  Coach Jay died January 29 from injuries he sustained in a crash during a team ride on January 25, 2015.  [Read More.]